Wife, Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Cook, Laundress, Maid, Finder of lost things, Loser of Cell Phones, Pet Lover, Boo-boo fixer...


Diary of a Real Live Mom

Monday, Jan. 26, 2004
10:02 AM

Mommy loves mobsters!
Well, it's Monday again. I'm not sure how this keeps happening. I am so ready for a break from this job. You�ve heard me say it before, but I just wish they would hurry up and make whatever decision it is that they are going to make and then send me home. I�m ready to start a new chapter, no a whole new book.

________________________________

The Soap I ordered came on Saturday. It is amazing. My skin is smoother, more even, less splotchy � all of this and I�ve only used it three times. My cheeks did get a little dry � damn this t-zone combination skin � but a light, oil-free moisturizer evened it right out. I�ll let you know how the results progress.

________________________________

I missed the Golden Globes last night. I had really wanted to at least catch a bit of it. I don�t know why it interested me so, but it always does. Here is a list of the winners (* indicates my correct prediction)

Movies:

*Picture, drama: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

*Picture, comedy: Lost in Translation

Actress, drama: Charlize Theron, Monster

Actress, musical or comedy: Diane Keaton, Something's Gotta Give

*Actor, drama: Sean Penn, Mystic River

*Actor, musical or comedy: Bill Murray, Lost in Translation

Supporting actress: Renee Zellweger, Cold Mountain

*Supporting actor: Tim Robbins, Mystic River

*Director: Peter Jackson, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Foreign language: Osama (Afghanistan)

Screenplay: Sofia Coppola, Lost in Translation

*Original score: Howard Shore, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Original song: Into the West, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, by Howard Shore, Fran Walsh, Annie Lennox

Television:

Drama series: 24 (Fox)

Comedy series: The Office (BBC America)

Actress, drama series: Frances Conroy, Six Feet Under

Actress, comedy series: Sarah Jessica Parker, Sex and the City

Actor, drama series: Anthony LaPaglia, Without a Trace

Actor, comedy series: Ricky Gervais, The Office

*Miniseries or made-for-TV movie: Angels in America (HBO)

*Actress, miniseries or made-for-TV movie: Meryl Streep, Angels in America

*Actor, miniseries or made-for-TV movie: Al Pacino, Angels in America

Supporting actress, series, miniseries or made-for-TV movie: Mary Louise Parker, Angels in America

Supporting actor, series, miniseries or made-for-TV movie: Jeffrey Wright, Angels in America

So, it seems I�m more of a movie person than a television person. Surprise, surprise. As if having 226 movies in my Netflix queue didn�t give that away.

Speaking of Netflix movies, we watched �The Spitfire Grill� Friday night. I had never seen it, and was pleasantly surprised. Except for how sad the end is. If you haven�t seen it, I won�t give it away, but just suffice it to say, I was crying by the time it was over.

I should have �The Sopranos, Season Three, Disc One� and �A Streetcar Named Desire� waiting on me when I get home today. Yes, I did just see �Streetcar�, but the hubby hasn�t seen it and really wanted to. I am totally addicted to �The Sopranos�. We never had HBO, so we�ve just been getting them, one disc at a time from Netflix. Each disc has 3-4 episodes on it and we always end up watching the whole thing in one sitting. This is not really a good thing for our sleep schedules when you consider we can�t put them in until after the little one goes to bed.

________________________________

I tried to write about this on Saturday, but either Diaryland or my computer kept going all wonky and losing things, so here�s the news:

First of all, it looks like we are going to get to adopt the little one. And, as it that isn�t enough, we may also get to adopt her half sister who was just born two weeks ago. What is strange is that the little on doesn�t even know this sister exists. She also doesn�t know that her mother�s rights have been terminated and that she will never see her again. They don�t want to tell her until the adoption is underway because they want to be able to give her the full plan and not just say, oh, by the way, you can never live with your mom again, and we don�t know what we�re going to do with you.

Can you imagine? Me? Adopting? A baby!? EEEEEEEE!

_______________________________

In a related story, I�ve got to come up with some cash. I need to finish out the attic into a bedroom for me and the hubby (that was the plan all along, we just need to hurry up) so we can have enough room for another child.

I have no idea what it is all going to cost. It isn�t even insulated yet.

_______________________________

I guess that is all I have for now. Happy Monday!



Back & Forth



E-Mail Me MySpace My Blog for Katie My Blog for Stephanie Get Your Own!