Wife, Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Cook, Laundress, Maid, Finder of lost things, Loser of Cell Phones, Pet Lover, Boo-boo fixer...


Diary of a Real Live Mom

2003-12-30
10:01 a.m.

I am Crazy Cat Lady, Hear me Meow!

Last night was my little one's birthday party. She is five years old today. I had her party at the amazing and exhausting Chuck E Cheese's. Which was really...um, interesting...to say the least? When we finally got home at 9:00 last night, I felt like I had been beaten with a baseball bat. And perhaps I was. The whole thing is really such a blur that anything could have happened. The one thing that pisses me off though is that I actually remembered my camera and I got there and my batteries were dead. I told the hubby last night that that was the last straw. I am buying a "real" camera that doesn't eat up batteries the insane way this digital does. I love the digital. I love being able to see the pictures right away, being able to post them here (which was always a pain in the ass with a camera and scanner), I love being able to delete them without ever having hard copies that could, one day, come back to haunt me. Maybe I should just fill one whole side of my purse with extra batteries and then I won't have that problem... I applied for a new job within my company yesterday. I know I said I was just going to wait this one out and then go home and be a mom, but I just don't know if I am really ready to do that, plus, I know a girl in this department and they occasionally get to work from home and that would be great. The hiring manager is a friend of my mom's and I am more than qualified, so keep your fingers crossed for me. We have Thursday off as a company holiday and I am taking Friday with my big, fat new bank of Paid Time Off. I think the little one's day care is actually open on those days and, don't get me wrong, but that would be ideal. I could get so much done around the house that I need to catch up on since Christmas. And I could rest. I feel like I have been running on empty for two weeks now. Finally, have told you about the cats in my neighborhood? There are about a dozen that just roam about, not really belonging to anyone, just going from house to house begging. Anyway, I came home from work yesterday and at least seven of them were in my front yard and on my porch. They are never all in the same place - you usually just see one or two at a time. It looked like a crazy cat lady house! I shooed them all away, but they just kind-f hovered around the driveway and in the bushes. Well, when we got back from the party I found out why. Apparently a female in heat has taken up residence and there she and, who we'll call random cat 1, humping away on my front porch. The little one says, "Mom, what are those cats doing?" to which the hubby quickly replies, "Just playing." as I start chasing them with the broom that was on the porch. Seriously, a broom. Now I really am crazy cat lady.

Back & Forth



E-Mail Me MySpace My Blog for Katie My Blog for Stephanie Get Your Own!