Wife, Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Cook, Laundress, Maid, Finder of lost things, Loser of Cell Phones, Pet Lover, Boo-boo fixer...


Diary of a Real Live Mom

2003-12-29
10:28 a.m.

100 Things About Me
So, I've been reading a ot of other diaries for ideas lately. I kept seeing "100 things about me" so I have finally decided to go ahead a do mine. Apparently I am nothing if not a follower.

So here it is:

1. I am currently 25 years old.

2. I was born August 3, 1978 � exactly on my due date.

3. I am the oldest of three children, with one sister (1.5 years younger) and one brother (seven years younger).

4. My brother was due to be born on my seventh birthday, but was exactly two weeks late.

5. I bite my nails obsessively.

6. I have been married for 6.5 years.

7. My husband�s name is Joe.

8. I am 2.5 months older than him.

9. We were married two years to the day from our first date.

10. Our first date was hiking in Cloudland Canyon, Georgia.

11. We did not kiss or hold hands until our second date.

12. Our second date was to a movie (Batman Forever) and then to a park to look at the stars.

13. We saw a shooting star, and when I asked what he wished for, he kissed me. (Awwwww�.)

14. We met while working at a Dairy Queen when we were 16.

15. We had several friends in common, but had never met.

16. We broke up and got back together once during our �courtship�.

17. During the time we were apart, I dated someone with the same name.

18. During the nine months before our wedding, Joe lived 170 miles away and was unable to help with any of the planning.

19. We have no biological children, but not because we can�t.

20. We are foster parents for special needs children.

21. We have had three foster placements this year. The first was returned to his birth father after six months. The second was hospitalized after six weeks. The third is still with us after 4 months and we hope to adopt her.

22. I work for the world�s largest disability insurance company.

23. My job is being eliminated in the spring.

24. I am probably not going to look for another one.

25. For the last several years, my goal has been to be a stay-at-home mom.

26. I have always wanted to be a writer.

27. I am currently looking into having a children�s book published.

28. I drive a Chrysler Voyager mini-van.

29. I love to�draw.

30. �paint.

31. �scrapbook.

32. �listen to music very loudly in the car.

33. �read.

34. �dance.

35. �write.

36. �shop.

37. �color my hair.

38. �play board games.

39. �plan events.

40. �sing.

41. I am a huge Dave Matthews Band fan (and so are you if you know why I put this one at #41).

42. I have been to four shows in the last three years.

43. My favorite shows have been this year � 9-19-03 in Antioch, TN and the Dave Matthews and Friends show 12-22-03 in Rosemont, IL.

44. May favorite DMB song of the moment is �Dancing Nancies�.

45. I also can never get enough of �Crush�, �Some Devil�, �Tripping Billies�, �#41� and �Stay�.

46. My favorite television shows are Friends and Survivor.

47. I will be deeply disappointed if Ross and Rachel don�t end up together.

48. The whole Rachel and Joey this made me sick.

49. I hated Lill worse than John on the last Survivor.

50. I have been to a movie by myself.

51. I have never gone to a restaurant by myself.

52. I have never had a close friend or relative die, though my aunt � one of my dad�s sisters � did die of pancreatic cancer in 2002.

53. Pancreatic cancer seems to run in my family as it also took my paternal grandfather in 1985.

54. My three remaining grandparents are still with us.

55. On my dad�s side I had three aunts and two uncles giving me 14 first cousins.

56. It is believed that I also have another aunt from when my grandfather was stationed in Hawaii during WWII, though no one has been able to find her.

57. On my mom�s side I have one aunt and one uncle giving me only two first cousins.

58. I am the oldest grandchild on that side of the family.

59. I have a tattoo of a butterfly on the inside of my right ankle. I have had it for over seven years.

60. I plan on getting another tattoo very soon. This one will be the Dave Matthews Band �Firedancer� logo. (I told you I was a huge fan.)

61. My ears are pierced twice, but I have no body piercings.

62. If I were really thin with a flat tummy, I would pierce my navel.

63. If I worked in an environment more conducive to it, I would pierce my nose and/or my eyebrow.

64. My hair has been nearly every color of the rainbow including pink, green and blue (though only the blue was on purpose and it was temporary).

65. I am, almost always, too hot and need a fan on.

66. I have lost 35 pounds this year.

67. I plan to lose twice that next year.

68. My favorite rainy day activities are�curling up with a good book and a cup of tea.

69. �painting pottery.

70. �napping.

71. �going to the movies.

72. I have never had a professional massage, though I would love to.

73. I enjoy having my eyebrows waxed, even though it hurts like hell.

74. I actually like my boss.

75. I can�t think of any co-workers in my department that I truly dislike.

76. My husband, my mom, my sister, my brother, and my brother-in-law are my closest friends, in that order.

77. I have done very little traveling in my life, but�

78. �I love road trips.

79. I was in marching band in high school, but�

80. �I do not play any musical instruments. I was a flag and rifle girl!

81. Band gave me a lot of opportunities, like going to Disney and Indianapolis, IN.

82. My first trip away from my parents was a five-day school trip to Washington, DC in the 8th grade.

83. I was in a stage comedy version of Robin Hood in 11th grade.

84. I dated one of the other actors for a year afterward. (He is gay now.)

85. I was in advanced choir in 12th grade, though I have no idea why since I can neither read music nor carry a tune and had never been in a choir before.

86. I have always wanted to learn to play an instrument, preferably guitar or piano.

87. I had the same best friend through all of Jr. High and High School.

88. I kept perfect attendance through all four years of high school.

89. I completed only one year of college.

90. I hope to go back soon.

91. I speak a little Spanish and can finger spell in American Sign Language.

92. If I could go on any game show, I would like it to be Jeopardy, but I fear I could only really compete on Wheel of Fortune or The Price is Right.

93. I love rhinoceroses. I contribute to funds to save them from extinction and I have a collection of about 40 figures and stuffed animals.

94. My bedroom if decorated in a red and black oriental style

95. All of the paintings hanging in my living room are my own work.

96. The �art� in my den is T-shirts from concerts I�ve been to inside acrylic box frames.

97. My favorite color of the moment is purple.

98. My favorite color to wear is black.

99. Chicago, IL is the furthest away from home I have ever been.

100. I am amazed anyone would want to read this.



Back & Forth



E-Mail Me MySpace My Blog for Katie My Blog for Stephanie Get Your Own!