Wife, Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Cook, Laundress, Maid, Finder of lost things, Loser of Cell Phones, Pet Lover, Boo-boo fixer...


Diary of a Real Live Mom

Saturday, Jan. 17, 2004
10:58 AM

The joys of motherhood
Girls' Night Out last night was great. We had such a good time and I really needed it.

I don't think I told you what happened with the little one. Tuesday night I went to pick her up from scouts only to find out that she had tried to choke one of the other girls! I made her apologize to the little girl, but she was so completely insincere. When we got home I had her stand with her nose in the corner (a suggestion from her pre-school as they had had some luck with that), but she was uncooperative and just kept playing and singing. So then, I took a suggestion from her caeworker - I told her to get her coat and we drove to the playground a little ways from our house. There, I gave her a small plastic grocery bag and told her to start picking up garbage from around the playground while I played on thw swings. She was furious. She wailed and cried for 20 minutes before she finally got started, then she picked up garbage for about 15 minutes and we went home. She had a bath and went to bed and I thought I had gotten through to her. Then we sat down and talked about it with one of her caseworkers (she has three plus a therapist) on Thursday afternoon and she finally came out with an answer as to why she did it. She just "wanted to be mean". Can you believe that!? So anyway, we moved on. I thought, well, it was just one incidence, you know.

So last night, I called to check in only to find out that when Joe picked her up from preschool, he found out she had thrown rocks and hit a boy who was playing elsewhere and then she punched him! Holy hell! I don't even know what to do with her! Needless to say, she is not going to that birthday party today. I am going to ake her take a present to the birthday girl at scouts on Tuesday and she'll have to apologize for missing her party and explain why she missed it. Maybe that will help sink the punishment in a bit.

Sheesh!



Back & Forth



E-Mail Me MySpace My Blog for Katie My Blog for Stephanie Get Your Own!