Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Feb. 16, 2004 - 1103379786

Time to get things back to normal around here. Even though I enjoyed making everything all Valentine-y around here, this is much better.

Let's see...this weekend was so nice. I told you that the hubby and I were going out of town, right? So anyway, we left at about 6:00 on Friday, dropped the little one off with my parents and hit the road. Knoxville is only about an hour an a half from here so with the stop to drop LO and a stop for some dinner, we were checked into the hotel by 8:30. We both immediately changed into our pj�s, put in our order for room service breakfast the next morning, and watched a movie that was on STARZ and three episodes of the Sopranos that we�d brought with us. Then I tried to sit through the drivel that is �Last Call with Carson Daly� because Death Cab for Cutie was on (last, of course) and I really wanted to hear them play. After sitting through the house band, the dancers, Carson the Tool himself, Al Roker, and Cedric the Entertainer it was finally time for DCfC and I fell asleep during the commercial break preceding it. I woke up about an hour later, completely pissed off. Of course that didn�t last long as it was now 3:30 in the morning and I fell right back to sleep.

I woke up at 9:15 when breakfast came; luckily the hubby was already up and was able to answer the door. So we had breakfast in bed (is there anything better?) and then we snuggled in to watch some TV and fell back asleep and I didn�t wake up again until two in the afternoon! I haven�t slept that late in years. After showering and getting dressed we decided to go for a drive and ended up at a Books-a-Million (like we don�t have one of those at home) and then went to dinner at a place called Pelanchos where we had the best fajitas either of us had ever had. (Check out the menu, it was the Parrillada Mexicana Fajitas.) Finally we stopped at K-Mart just to browse around since the mall was closed. We got back to the hotel and watched one more Sopranos episode before Saturday Night Live came on. I think Drew Barrymore did a great job and I also think it is time for the Milkshake song and the girl who �sings� it to go away. Far away.

Yesterday, we packed up and checked out and went to the West Town Mall, thinking it would be open at about 11:00. Wrong. We walked all around the mall (and they have a Torrid - I am so jealous!) but nothing was open and as we left we saw a sign that said they opened at 12:30. Yes, we were just wandering around with the mall-walkers. So we went across the street to Borders to browse the stacks and get a decent cup of coffee and then hit the road and headed home.

So that�s the run-down of my weekend. Very restful, just what I needed.

___________________________

Here�s last week�s Friday Five:

1. Are you superstitious?

Not really. Though I will �knock on wood� and throw spilled salt over my shoulder, I don�t worry about walking under ladders or black cats.

2. What extremes have you heard of someone going to in the name of superstition?

Baseball players crack me up. They are the most superstitious people I have ever seen.

3. Believer or not, what's your favorite superstition?

Favorite in what way? For me personally, I like the idea of salt over the shoulder. That one makes sense to me, as much as a superstition can, I guess.

4. Do you believe in luck? If yes, do you have a lucky number/article of clothing/ritual?

I guess I do. I always play the same numbers in the lottery (though I have never won with them, so maybe they are not so lucky after all).

5. Do you believe in astrology? Why or why not?

No, but that doesn�t stop me from reading my horoscope almost every day.

__________________________________

And this week�s Unconscious Mutterings:

  1. Dragon:: Lair

  2. Molecule:: Atom

  3. Tire:: Wheel

  4. Mighty:: Weak

  5. Octane:: Fuel

  6. Troll:: Dungeon

  7. Atmosphere:: Environment

  8. Guide:: Trail

  9. Leash:: Dog

  10. Dustmite:: Dirt

___________________________________

Simpson�s Trivia

In �Tennis the Menace�, participants in the talent show at the Retirement Castle are promised extra portions of what?

a. Oxygen

b. The jigsaw puzzle

c. Honey mush

d. Lime gelatin

----

Answer to the previous question:

a. �My Other T-shirt is Clean�

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!