Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jan. 30, 2004 - 1103379876

I currently have 200 hours in my Paid Time Off bank here at work. Of that, 64 hours has to be used before I leave here or I will lose it as it is carry-over from last year and what they call �floating holidays�. The remaining 136 hours technically accrues over the course of the year at the rate of 11.3 hours a month. Those I can be paid for if I leave before using them, so I am not as worried about them. Those 64 hours, though, that�s eight days just calling my name. I am thinking I might take Thursday and Friday off next week. I think I�ll work really hard this weekend to get the whole house all cleaned up and then just be able to relax and enjoy some time to myself next week. Doesn�t that sound lovely? I�m going to get one large box and one large bag for each room and make it a goal to fill each one up with yard sale stuff and garbage, respectively. Then, in the spring, when it is yard sale season again, I will already have everything all culled and boxed up. Maybe I will even list some of it on eBay. I am really going to make a commitment to get rid of a lot of our extras and start living more simply. I feel like that is what I need to do. Joe and I have too much random, impulse-buy junk and the Little One has way too many toys. She doesn�t even know what she has. I may store some of them in the attic in case she wants them later, but as it is, we just have too much stuff.

______________________________________

Today marks four weeks since I have been to Wal-Mart. I have to say, I am quite pleased with myself and think I am a better person for it. I used to be a complete Wal-Mart addict, but I just got fed up and then I put that together with the repressed memories of how I was treated when I worked there and with all the crap about how they treat their employees and suppliers and that was just it. I had had enough.

______________________________________

Last night was the shower for my sister I was telling you about. Mostly it was older ladies from church, as functions like that are wont to be, and since it was held in the fellowship hall of my church. So, my sister and I were standing near one of the counters and several of the ladies including my mother and grandmother were sitting together gabbing about romance novels and the like. My granny then, so politely says, �Those things never did anything for me.� This, I assure you, is not as bad as it will get. So then they are just plain talking about sex (eww) when one of the ladies says, �I�ll tell you what I tell my husband, �Once a king, always a king, but one a night�s enough��. I thought I was going to crawl under the table at this point, but then my mom (MY MOM!) says, �Not necessarily.� But then my granny (MY GRANNY!) gets up to get a piece of paper to write that little ditty down so she can remember to tell it to my pappaw. Oh. My. Hell. I wish I could put into words just how creeped out I was. Needless to say, I need to get to repressing some more memories and soon.

______________________________________

This afternoon, my sister and I are going out with my aunt for her birthday (which was almost two weeks ago). We are going to the famed Fire It Up and then out to dinner. I don�t know where dinner is going to be, my aunt gets to pick. I know there is a really good Mexican place right across the street and I would love that, but she said she had just had Mexican a couple days ago, so I don�t know.

______________________________________

Last night I was reading Sundry�s diary and she linked to this which has to be the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. The hubby and I watched it at least four times � there are so many funny little details. My favorite is when the Frenchman gives the order to send their missiles and the Frenchwoman says, �But I am le tired.� I think I am going to start using that any time anyone asks me to do something.

______________________________________

Simpsons Trivia

In �Grift of the Magi�, Mr. Burns agrees to fund the bankrupt Springfield Elementary School with the money he found where?

- - - - - -

Answer to previous question: D

______________________________________

I guess that is all I have for now. Happy Friday

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!