Wife, Mother, Daughter, Sister, Friend, Cook, Laundress, Maid, Finder of lost things, Loser of Cell Phones, Pet Lover, Boo-boo fixer...


Diary of a Real Live Mom

Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2004
3:35 PM

Wait a minute, Mr. Postman...
Dear Powers-that-be-concerning-my-job,

Please don�t take this the wrong way, but can we just go ahead and call it quits now? Dragging it out like this is killing me. Honestly, what am I doing here? What am I accomplishing? I come in a little bit later every day. I can�t tell you the last time I was here past 4:30 and you don�t want to know how long my 45-minute lunch break has become.

My title is Customer Path Coordinator. My job is to organize and plan all aspects of a customer visit. Do you realize no customer has come in since before Thanksgiving? It�s January 14th for crying out loud! I am bored. My brain is withering away. I am forgetting simple skills that I once had. Can we just make this decision and move on?

We both know it�s coming. Give me my sad, little 4-week severance package and say goodbye. Yes, I will miss you (but not near as much as you think) and you will miss me (I assure you, you have no idea how much). It�s been a good four year run � the longest I have ever spent with one company � but all good things must come to an end.

I�m ready now. I have made my peace with the fact that the company is cutting jobs just about everywhere and I am not going to be able to find anything else here. I have accepted that things are going to have to change at home. Belts will have to be tightened. Pennies will have to be pinched. I can live with that.

Honestly, you have given me a great gift - the gift of time. Time with my little one. Time to accomplish things at home. Time with my dear husband in support of his changing career. Time to find what I really want to do with my life. And best of all, time for me. Thank you.

Don�t think that means you can skip out on the severance.

So, anyway, I know you can�t let go of me just yet. But when you do, know that it will be okay, I will be okay.

Sincerely,

Erica



Back & Forth



E-Mail Me MySpace My Blog for Katie My Blog for Stephanie Get Your Own!